Keeping a journal – part 1

Introduction

If you’re serious about changing your life for the better, then you must start by keeping a journal and do not trust your memory. You can have the greatest memory in the World, but doing things in your head without writing them down leads to limitation at best and confusion or waste of yet another year at worst. Get in the habit of writing things down, When you come across something profound in a book, write it down. When you listen to something valuable, write it down. Whenever you come across something important, learn to write it down.

;

I used to rely on my memory in a way to improve my memory by keeping things in my head and only write things down when they involved arithmetic, I had never thought of keeping a journal. When I finally started practicing the art of keeping a journal and consistently writing things down, my life changed into something no-less of a miracle, my dreams started to become clearer and I started making effort to improve my life. By year one I completely turned my life around, things started to happen which naturally lead me towards my dreams. For the first time in my life, I could see where my life was going and better still it was going in the direction I had planned within my journal some months ago.

;

I now keep a digital journal which synchronises with my iMac, iPad and iPhone so I am never lost without it to hand. My journals have gone from sheets of tissue paper at various restaurants, to a leather bound A5 size Filofax type with plain paper inside for me to get as creative as I like. Although I am currently using an electronic version, I must admit there is nothing quite like the connection of pen and paper, its almost like a harmonious flow from the mind to my fingertips and creating on paper, but it is solely due to time constraints as well as convenience that I have adopted a technological route. My advice would be to use a paper version if/when you can because these journals are soon to become a valuable part of your library.
My leather bound Journal
Jim Rohn once stated, “I am a buyer of blank books. Kids find it interesting that I would buy a blank book. They say, “Twenty-six dollars for a blank book! Why would you pay that?” The reason I pay twenty-six dollars is to challenge myself to find something worth twenty-six dollars to put in there. All my journals are private, but if you ever got a hold of one of them, you wouldn’t have to look very far to discover it is worth more than twenty-six dollars….I must admit, if you got a glimpse of my journals, you’d have to say that I am a serious student. I’m not just committed to my craft, I’m committed to life, committed to learning new concepts and skills. I want to see what I can do with seed, soil, sunshine and rain to turn them into the building blocks of a productive life.

Keeping a journal is so important because not only does it change your life, but the lives of whom-so-ever gets hold of it and starts to read it. I know so many people, who have used their journals as references for them to carry on writing a book which has brought them their fortune. Your journal can be the very thing future generations will find far more valuable than anything material you leave behind once you pass on, because this is YOUR LEGACY.
You can stick your favorite pictures in your journal, capturing the event your writing about bringing home the appreciation even more. When you’re gone, they’ll keep the memories alive. Then you can reference a number of books that you have read in the past, you can just copy an paste it straight into your journal because you never know where that book is when your in need of that missing piece of the puzzle to make your fortune.

Journal

;

As you can see, I have my ‘Goal Plan’, ‘Notes’, ‘Developmental notes’, My Gratitude log (tagged Sunshine) and any other items (tagged ‘to do/note’), within my Journal, so everything is in one book. This works for me, you can have yours however it works for you because it is your book.

Your journal can teach you, instruct you and help you defend your ideals, dreams and decisions. It can help you develop a whole new philosophy, help you become wealthy, powerful, healthy, sophisticated, and unique.

A journal says to me, is that you are a student of your own life, your own future, your own destiny. So take the time to keep notes and to keep a journal. You’ll be so glad you did.

In the following parts I shall go further into detail on keeping a journal and things to write in to take maximum usage from it, please use this information for your own development as it is very rarely provided freely.

Leave a Reply

